Aerial view of St. Paul campus

Community Input

By envisioning what St. Thomas could look like a decade from now, community members and stakeholders helped to frame themes and develop priorities for the next five years.

The St. Thomas 2025 Strategic Planning Task Force worked with campus partners to lead community conversations and to gather input.

Through a survey and community conversations, community members provided insights about the successes and obstacles related to each of the strategic themes.

In addition to community input sessions, feedback was gathered from students, the President’s Cabinet, members of the Board of Trustees and various advisory boards. Ideas also were gathered from the strategic plans of individual colleges, schools and other divisions. As a result, this plan reflects both university-wide planning efforts and specific planning efforts from units across the university.

You can read examples of the community input related to our six Guiding Themes:

Realizing our Vision

St. Thomas 2025 is a living document, designed to help guide decisions about our focus. As we pursue strategic opportunities in the next five years, we will remain nimble and responsive to changes and challenges that may arise and adjust our plans as necessary.

Implementing these priorities will require significant focus, commitment and resources. To achieve our goals, St. Thomas will launch a comprehensive campaign.

Additional Members of the Strategic Planning Task Force

  • Staff Representative

    Theresa Ricke-Kiely
    Executive Director, Center for the Common Good

  • Staff Representative

    Kha A. Yang
    Associate Vice President, Inclusive Excellence

  • Staff Representative

    Bryan W. Gates
    Associate Director, First Year Admissions

  • Staff Representative

    Amir J. Nadav
    Assistant Director, Campus Sustainability

  • Staff Representative

    Megan K. Jacobson
    Senior Associate Athletic Director

  • Undergraduate Representative

    Aria R. St. James

  • Graduate Representative

    Sierra Pancoast

  • Representative for Adjunct Faculty

    K.D. Hirschey
    Adjunct Faculty, 12 Months

  • All Staff Council Representative

    Heidi M. Hjort
    Systems Analyst

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Douglas C. Orzolek
    Professor, Music

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Cara L. Anthony
    Associate Professor, Theology

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Jason E. Sawin
    Associate Professor, Computer & Information Sciences

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Caleb Goltz
    Assistant Professor, Political Science

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Ernest L. Owens
    Assistant Professor, Management

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Consuelo E. Cavalieri
    Associate Professor, Psychology

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Jennifer L. Trost
    Clinical Faculty

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Jayne K. Sommers
    Assistant Professor, School of Education

  • CFNE Appointed Faculty

    Jordan B. Barlow
    Assistant Professor, Graduate Programs in Software

Special Thanks

Our special thanks goes to:

  • Ellen Haeg for organizing our input sessions;
  • St. Thomas Library staff Dan Gjelten, Julie Kimlinger, John Heintz and Trent Brager, for analyzing the data and identifying themes that emerged;
  • Jo Montie for creating the community Canvas site; and
  • John Kinsella and Dan Lamatsch for producing the content.
  • Thanks also to graduate students Mina Chung and Madalyn Cioci as well as undergraduate students Urso Ramirez, Sandy Ganesan, Natalie Bents and Shannon Moran for your excellent contributions to this project.